Honours in Astrophysics and Space Science

You are here

The Honours Programme, which started in February 2003, is hosted at all three NASSP nodes, University of Cape Town, University of Kwazulu Natal and Nort West Univerity. Lectures will be given by staff in the NASSP consortium and will cover most areas of modern astronomy, astrophysics and cosmology. In addition to lecture courses, students will be expected to take a substantial practical component which will involve several field trips to some of southern Africa's space science research facilities. These include the South African Astronomical Observatory(SAAO) site at Sutherland where SALT, the Southern African Large Telescope (the largest optical telescope in the southern hemisphere) is located, the radio telescope facility South Africa Radio Astronomy Observatory(SARAO) at Hartebeesthoek.

This unique new opportunity in Southern Africa aims at producing highly skilled people who will be in demand in fields ranging from aerospace to financial services to telecommunications - all areas where astronomers trained overseas have been successful. Other graduates will join the growing community of African researchers who will use the continent's new, "giant eyes" to explore the Universe - our environment on the grandest possible scale.

Honours in Astrophysics and Space Science Programme Outline

Please consult the respective NASSP nodes for programme outline.